Skip to Main Content


As part of the Texas K-12 CTO Council strategic planning process, committees have been formed to carry out the work and move us along to accomplishing our goals of the plan. Committees are a great way to get involved in your organization, show your leadership skills, meet new people and contribute to a great cause! To be part of one of the committees, contact the committee chair:

Formal Committees

Committee Purpose Chair for 2019-2020

Shad McGaha, Wichita Falls ISD

Karen Fuller, Cy-Fair ISD

To expand the influence of the Texas K-12 CTO Council by building strong relationships with other organizations that can support our mission and objectives.

Cindy Bingman, Aldine ISD

Mark Gabehart, Round Rock ISD


To provide feedback to the Communications Coordinator on the design and content of the website and social media messaging.

Bryon Kolbeck, Lewisville ISD  
Anne Halsey,
Communications Coordinator
Leadership Development To design services that our members may need as a part of a membership or for a low cost. To develop skills and knowledge that are needed to lead a district's transformation to a 21st century learning environment, based on the Framework of Essential Skills.
Kyle Jones, Lackland ISD 

To review all financial documents of the organization, assist in the preparation of the annual budget, and oversee the management of financial records.

Barbara Brown, Prestonwood Christian Academy
Meetings & Events

To plan and make decisions on the content and schedule of meetings and events.

Karen Fuller, Cy-Fair ISD

Jennifer Miller, Cy-Fair ISD


To proactively recruit districts who are not members and think of new benefits that we can offer to our members.

Leslie Garakani, Midlothian ISD

Lewis Wynn, Austin ISD
Next Digital Shift

To conduct research on various topics of interest to the membership and creates whitepapers with resources to be shared with the membership.

Barbara Brown, Prestonwood Christian Academy

Adam Feind, Northwest ISD



The purpose of this committee is to develop best practices for data privacy, cybersecurity and promote a trusted learning environment in schools. This committee will review the TxSPA data privacy agreement annually, review the need for any updates to cybersecurity planning, and encourage districts to develop a trusted learning environment by adopting the TLE framework.

Lewis Wynn, Austin ISD

Karen Fuller, Cy-Fair ISD


Ad-Hoc Committees

Committee Purpose Chair for 2019-2020

This committee only operates during the awards selection time period (typically November-December). Each year the Texas K-12 CTO Council recognizes individuals and school districts that demonstrate outstanding vision in the use of information technologies to improve student learning. We offer two awards:

- Grace Hopper Award

- Team Award 

Shad McGaha, Wichita Falls ISD


This committee operates only when there is a need to update and revise the current Bylaws. This committee should be led by the Chair or other officer and should be comprised of several members who are not on the Board. Any recommendations from this committee must be reviewed by the Board and approved by the Membership. 

Shad McGaha, Wichita Falls ISD



This committee only operates during the officer selection cycle (March - May). This committee is lead by the Past Chair of the Texas K-12 CTO Council Board.

Bryon Kolbeck, Lewisville ISD