Winter Meeting

Winter Meeting 2017

Come join your colleagues at the Texas K-12 CTO Council Winter Meeting on January 28, 2017 at the 

Hilton Hotel, Austin Convention Center
500 East 4th Street
Austin, TX 78701


There will be great food, informative content, and lots of opportunities to network with your peers!

Registration is now closed. Join us at our next event the Texas CTO Clinic, June 22-23 at the Marriott Riverwalk!


Program Agenda




7:30 – 8:00am

Breakfast & Networking


8:00 – 8:15am

Welcome and Announcements

  • Website Communities
  • Join a Committee!
  • Help at TASA MidWinter

Lewis Wynn, Chair

Alice Owen, TX K-12 CTO Council

Seth Hansen, Midway ISD

8:15 – 9:00am

KeynoteData Privacy / Security Panel

Frosty Walker, Chief Information Security Officer - TEA

Melody Parrish, Deputy Commissioner of Technology - TEA

Cristina Ruiz Blanton, Special Risks Consultant - TASB

Bryon Kolbeck, Ex. Dir. of Technology - Lewisville ISD

9:00 – 9:45am

Coppell ISD – Apple / IBM Watson Project



Sam Farsaii, CTO - Coppell ISD

Marilyn Denison, Asst. Supt. - Coppell ISD

9:45 – 10:15am

Ed Tech Revolution (x), Now What?


Cindy Bingman, Executive Director of Technology Services - Aldine ISD

Nguyen Bui, Executive Director of Technology Innovation & Initiatives – Aldine ISD

Mike Patterson, Texas Education Strategist – CDW

10:15 – 10:30am

Break & Networking



10:30 – 11:15am

 Digital Designing for a Collaborative Environment

Ernie Stripling, CIO – Denton ISD

Dr. Mike Mattingly, Asst. Supt. for      C & I – Denton ISD

Dwight Goodwin, Director of Instructional Technology – Denton ISD

11:15 – 11:45am

 How to Find a 1-1 Partner, Not Just a Vendor 


Patrick Reagan - Fujitsu

11:45am – 12:30pm

Lunch & Networking




12:30 – 12:40pm

Modernization of the Data Center

Roman Gonzales, Solutions Sales Executive - Lenovo

12:40 – 1:10pm

CyFair ISD Wireless Access Point and Guest Access Implementation

Doug Minderhout, Director of Engineering/Texas – Layer 3

Paula Ross - CyFair ISD

1:10 – 1:50pm

T-TESS and Technology

Albert Martinez, Director of Technology Support Services - Corpus Christi ISD

Cary Perales, Coordinator for Instructional Technology – Corpus Christi ISD

1:50 – 2:00pm


Craig Justice, HoverCam

Steven Stone, CyFair ISD

Johnny Chen, Prime Systems

2:00 – 2:30pm

Research on Blended Learning

Barbara Brown, Prestonwood Christian Academy

Donna Henry, Lewisville ISD

2:30 – 3:00pm

Implementing Digital Learning Programs? Keep It Simple, Secure, and Scalable


Roniesha Copeland, District Success Lead – Clever


3:00 – 4:00pm

Committee Work


Join a committee in an informal setting!

4:30 – 6:30pm

Reception at Moonshine


Sponsored by Presidio


Platinum Sponsors























Layer 3 Communications















Gold Sponsors