Fall Meeting

Meeting Information

When: October 20th, 2017
Where: Sockwell Center, Plano ISD
             6301 Chapel Hill Blvd,
             Plano, TX 75093
RegistrationRegistration closes for the TX CTO Council Fall Meeting on October 13, 2017 at 5:00 pm. This meeting will be free to all members and non-members, so bring a friend along! There will be great presentations to hear and lots of information to share from our committees. Breakfast and lunch are included in your registration, but you must pre-register to let us know you are coming! Click on this link to book your team: Fall Registration
There is also a dinner the night before at the Salt Grass Steakhouse in Plano. It is included in your registration, but please let us know if you will be attending so we can get an accurate count. RSVP here for dinner: Fall Meeting Dinner

Keynote Speaker

Dan Armstrong - Plano ISD

Dan Armstrong is in his fourth year as the Assistant Superintendent for Technology and in his 28th year with the Plano Independent School District. Before taking on the lead position he worked his way up in the organization in following roles: System Operator, Network Engineer, Senior Network Engineer, Director of Technical Support Services and Executive Director for Technology Operations. Mr. Armstrong is a part of education organizations such as Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA), TCEA Tec-SIG, iNACOL, and the Consortium of School Network (CoSN) where he is an active Certified Education Technology Leader (CETL). 

The term One to One or (1:1) seems to dominate many conversations when talking about device access in K12. The Plano school district reached out to other districts and to their own staff to define what was needed for the best way to further the curriculum in and out of the district. Plano is embarking on a model for 1:1 that isn’t a device take home project but does address the access barriers at school. The web platform used to deliver the solution will be explained as well as “Reverse BYOD” and how we can leverage it to accomplish similar outcomes like traditional 1:1 programs without the major pitfalls or headaches. Dan looks forward to sharing the details of this program with everyone in his keynote.

Program Agenda




7:30 – 8:00am

Breakfast & Networking


8:00 – 8:20am

Welcome and Announcements

Adam Feind, Chair

Seth Hansen, Communications Coordinator

8:20 – 8:30am

The World will be Hybrid, and the Intelligent Edge is Going to Unleash an Industrial IoT Revolution

Gold Sponsor - Delcom Group
Chris Townsend, VP of Public Sector at HP Enterprise

8:30 – 9:15am

Keynote Speaker - 1:1 Program in Plano ISD

Dan Armstrong
Plano ISD

9:15 – 9:45am

Keeping our Kids Safe: Intelligent Video Surveillance

Platinum Sponsor - Huawei

Tom Yarbrough, Regional Director - Huawei

9:45 – 10:00am

Break & Networking


10:00 – 10:45am

How to Apply for Matching E-Rate Funds

Rory Peacock, ESC 11

10:45 – 11:15am

Cognitive Wi-Fi: Using Automation and Network Intelligence to Maintain Highly-Optimized Wi-Fi Networks at School Districts

Platinum Sponsor - Mojo

Lindy McCulloch, Director of Technology Services, ESC 6

Dustyn Davis, Network Engineer, ESC 6

11:15 – 12:00pm

Table Talk - Committee Work

Join a committee and get involved in the work of your organization!

12:00  – 12:50pm

Lunch, Networking & Exhibits


12:50 -1:00pm

Using Data Analytics to Improve Implementation Fidelity

Gold Sponsor - CatchOn

Dustin Hardin, Humble ISD

1:00 - 1:45pm

Legislative Update

Melody Parrish, TEA

1:45 – 2:15pm

K12 Needs: Security, Compliance, Asset Management, Network Ops, and Desktop Support

Platinum Sponsor - ForeScout

Kyle Berger, CTO - Grapevine-Colleyville ISD

Charles Shuford, Network Engineer - GCISD

Wallace Sann, VP - ForeScout

Don Cleghorn, Regional Sales Manager - ForeScout

2:15 – 2:30pm

Break, Networking & Exhibits


2:30 - 3:15pm

Security Specialist in K12 Education - Standards, Personnel in K12, Job Descriptions

Karen Fuller - Houston ISD

John Orbaugh - Tyler ISD

3:15 – 4:00pm

Applying for the TLE Seal

Frankie Jackson, CTO - Cy Fair ISD

Bryon Kolbeck, CTO - Lewisville ISD

Mark Gabehart, Executive Director of Information Services - Round Rock ISD


Platinum Sponsors













Mojo Networks







Gold Sponsors















Silver Sponsors

Condrey Corporation





















GTS Technology Solutions














Unite Private Networks